PLUG 2005 Nominees/Winners Thanks to everyone who voted and who made the 2005 event possible! Here are your 2005 nominees and winners (for releases/
performances in 2004).

To see nominees and winners from other years, click here.

Album Of The Year

Dizzee Rascal - Boy In Da Corner (XL/Matador)
!!! - Louden Up Now (Touch And Go)
Devendra Banhart - Rejoicing In The Hands (Young God)
Dios - Dios CPA study material (StarTime International)
Mark Lanegan Band - Bubblegum (Beggars Banquet)
Ted Leo + Pharmacists - Shake The Sheets (Lookout!)
Joanna Newsom - The Milk-Eyed Mender (Drag City)
Sufjan Stevens - Seven Swans (Sounds Familyre)
TV On The Radio - Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes (Touch And Go)
Tom Waits - Real Gone (Anti-)

Artist Of The Year

Animal Collective
Devendra Banhart
Dizzee Rascal
Mark Lanegan
Joanna Newsom
Sufjan Stevens
TV On The Radio
Tom Waits

New Artist Of The Year

Arcade Fire
Devendra Banhart
Bloc Party
Dizzee Rascal
The Futureheads
Joanna Newsom
Sons And Daughters
TV On The Radio

Male Artist Of The Year

Amp Fiddler
Devendra Banhart
Nick Cave
Danger Mouse
Dizzee Rascal
Mark Lanegan
MF Doom
Sufjan Stevens
Tom Waits

Female Artist Of The Year

A Girl Called Eddy
Ellen Allien
Jean Grae
Jolie Holland
Miss Kittin
Juana Molina
Joanna Newsom
Dani Siciliano
Jesse Sykes
Laura Veirs

Hip-Hop Album Of The Year

The Alchemist - 1st Infantry (Koch)
cLOUDDEAD - Ten (Mush)
Dizzee Rascal - Boy In Da Corner (XL/Matador)
The Gift Of Gab - 4th Dimensional Rocketships Going Up (Quannum)
Madvillain - Madvillany (Stones Throw)
Prince Po - The Slickness (Lex)
Murs - Murs 3:16, The 9th Edition (Definitive Jux)
Saul Williams - Saul Williams (Fader Label)

Punk Album Of The Year

Bad Religion - The Empire Strikes First (Epitaph)
Coachwhips - Bangers Vs Fuckers (Narnack)
Converge - You Fail Me (Epitaph)
Hot Snakes - Audit In Progress (Swami)
The Thermals - Fuckin A (Sub Pop)
These Arms Are Snakes - Oxeneers Or The Lion Sleeps When Its Antelope Go
Home (Jade Tree)
Taking Back Sunday - Where You Want To Be (Victory)
Various Artists - Rock Against Bush, Vol 1 (Fat Wreck Chords)

Metal Album Of The Year

Comets On Fire - Blue Cathedral (Sub Pop)
Dillinger Escape Plan - Miss Machine (Relapse)
Isis - Panopticon (Ipecac)
Mastodon - Leviathan (Relapse)
Melvins/Lustmord - Pigs Of The Roman Empire (Ipecac)
Shadows Fall - The War Within (Century Media)
Unearth - The Oncoming Storm (Metal Blade)

Electronic/Dance Album Of The Year

Colder - Again (Output)
Cut Copy - Bright Like Neon Love (Modular)
Kid606 - Who Still Kill Sound? (Tigerbeat6)
M83 - Dead Cities, Red Seas And Lost Ghosts (Mute)
Miss Kittin - I.Com (Astralwerks)
Mouse On Mars - Radical Connector (Thrill Jockey)
Ulrich Schnauss - A Strangely Isolated Place (Domino)

Americana Album Of The Year

Drive-By Truckers - The Dirty South (New West)
Steve Earle - The Revolution Starts Now (Artemis)
Iron And Wine - Our Endless Numbered Days (Sub Pop)
Lambchop - Aw Cmon/No You Cmon (Merge)
Old 97?s - Drag It Up (New West)
Grant-Lee Phillips - Virginia Creeper (Zoe/Rounder)

Indie Rock Album Of The Year

Arcade Fire - Funeral (Merge)
Blonde Redhead - Misery Is A Butterfly (4AD)
French Kicks - The Trial Of The Century (StarTime International)
Interpol - Antics (Matador)
Ted Leo + Pharmacists - Shake The Sheets (Lookout!)
The Libertines - The Libertines (Rough Trade)
TV On The Radio - Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes (Touch And Go)

DJ Album Of The Year

Diplo - Favela On Blast (N/A)
DJ Green Lantern And Big Mike - Jadakiss: The Champ Is Here (N/A)
Greyboy - Shades Of Grey (Ubiquity)
Erlend Øye - DJ-Kicks (!K7)
RJD2 - Since We Last Spoke (Definitive Jux)
Thievery Corporation- The Outernational Sound (ESL)

Avant Album Of The Year

Animal Collective - Sung Tongs (FatCat)
Black Dice - Creature Comforts (DFA)
Bohren And Der Club Of Gore - Black Earth (Ipecac)
Eyvind Kang - Virginal Co Ordinates (Ipecac)
Liars - They Were Wrong, So We Drowned (Mute)
Sunburned Hand Of The Man - Rare Wood (Spirit Of Orr)
Wolf Eyes - Burned Mind (Sub Pop)

Record Label Of The Year

Definitive Jux
Dim Mak
Saddle Creek
Sub Pop
Touch And Go

Live Act Of The Year

Death Cab For Cutie
The Decemberists
Dillinger Escape Plan
Sage Francis
Guided By Voices
Lightning Bolt
Joanna Newsom
TV On The Radio
Saul Williams

Record Producer of the Year

9th Wonder
Danger Mouse

Album Art/Packaging of the Year

Arcade Fire – Funeral (Merge)
Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds – Abbatoir Blues/The Lyre Of Orpheus (Anti-)
DM And Jemini – Twenty Six Inch (Lex)
Fantômas – Delìrium Cordìa (Ipecac)
Funkstörung – Disconnected (!K7)
Mastodon – Leviathan (Relapse)
Menomena – I Am The Fun Blame Monster (FILMguerrero)
Pan Sonic – Kesto (Mute)
Thievery Corporation – The Outernational Sound (ESL)
Tom Waits – Real Gone (Anti-)

PLUG Artist Impact Award

Each year PLUG chooses the PLUG Artist Impact award which goes to a person or group (major or independent) who’s body of work has had a significant impact on the independent music community over the years. This year...

The Flaming Lips

Music Website Of The Year

Magazine Of The Year

Filter Magazine
The Wire

Specialty Show Of The Year (Commercial Radio)

KDLD, Los Angeles, "Dead Air?
KITS, San Francisco, "Soundcheck" with Aaron Axelsen
WPLA, Jacksonville, "Forbidden Planet" with Robert Goodman
WXRT, Chicago, IL, "Big Beat" with Marty Lennartz
WEQX, Albany, NY, "Download" with Alex Taylor
WWCD, Columbus, OH, "The Independent Playground? with Tom & Rudy
WAQZ, Cincinnati, OH, "Miss Sally's Playhouse" with Sally Vollner,
WRZX, Indianapolis, IN, "The Hangover Cafe" with Dave Dugan
WFRD, Hanover, NH, "Uplink" with Danielle Ricci
WPGU, Champaign, IL "Off The Record" with Liz Mozzocco

College/Non-Comm Radio Station Of The Year

KCRW, Santa Monica, CA
KEXP, Seattle, WA
KXLU, Los Angeles, CA
WFMU, Jersey City, NJ
WRAS, Atlanta, GA
KALX, Berkley, CA
WSOU, South Orange, NJ
KUSF, San Francisco, CA

Internet Radio Station of the Year

Record Store of the Year

Amoeba Music, Hollywood, CA
Aquarius Records, San Francisco, CA
Criminal Records, Atlanta, GA
Fingerprints, Long Beach, CA
Mondo Kim?s, New York City, NY
Newbury Comics, Brighton, MA
Other Music, New York City, NY
Rough Trade, London
Waterloo Records And Video, Austin,TX

Best Music DVD of the Year

Ninja Tune Recordings: Zen TV DVD
Rock Against Bush, Vol 2
Ted Leo + Pharmacists: Dirty Old Town
Warp Vision: The Videos 1989 – 2004